Leicester Junior Congress

Leicester Junior Congress took place on Sunday 4th Feb at Leicester Grammar and saw closely fought competition throughout the three sections (Open, Major (U80) and Minor (U30) with awards being made in each age category within each section.

In the Minor the clear overall winner of the section was Elizabeth Stein (U13) on 5pts whose only loss came against U9 winner Madhav Eradi (4.5pts), who also was unbeaten apart from a loss to U11 winner Avnish Patel (4.5pts).

In the Major (U80) the competition was dominated by great performances from 3 U9 players (Elis Denele Dicen (Warks) , Kajus Mikalajunas (Leics) and Lindsay Pyun (Leics)) who all finished on 5pts and could only be placed in that order by the 2nd criteria of the tie break system in operation (Cumulative Scores) which totals the score of each player after each round (thus placing a greater value to having a clean win sheet as far into the competition as possible). It only seems fair to mention that remarkably Lindsay Pyun beat both Elis Denele and Kajus in the course of the competition, which possibly underlines the imperfections inherent within any tiebreak system. As the best placed Leicestershire player Kajus (aged 7) won the U9 County title.

In the Open, Ben Raine (5pts) was a clear winner of the section, from three players on 4.5pts (Imogen Dicen (sister of the winner of the Major), Daniel Stein (brother of the winner of the Minor) and Thomas Blay) and thus won the U18 county title as well. Daniel Chen and George Worrow Goodin won the U11 and U13 county titles respectively both scoring 4pts.

Full results can be seen by clicking the links below:


U18: 1st Ben Raine (5), 2nd Daniel Stein (4.5)

U13: 1st Imogen Dicen (4.5), 2nd George Worrow-Goodin (4)

U11: 1st Daniel Chen (4), 2nd Mankaran Punglia (3)


U13: 1st Adam Kerbel (4), Rakshai Muthusamy (3.5)

U11: 1st Anant Kapoor (4), 2nd Sridat Bhamidipati (4)

U9: 1st Elis Denele Dicen (5), 2nd Kajus Mikalajunas (5), 3rd Lindsay Pyun (5)


U13:  1st Elizabeth Stein (5), 2nd Mariam Syed (2)

U11: 1st Avnish Patel (4.5), 2nd  Joshua Stein (4.5)

U9: 1st Madhav Eradi (4.5), 2nd Holly Fowkes (4)

U7: 1st Billy Fellowes (4), 2nd Catherine Lv (3)

County Champions: Ben Raine (U18), George Worrow-Goodin (U13), Daniel Chen (U11), Kajus Mikalajunas (U9)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.