Leicester Junior Congress 2019

The Leicester Junior Congress took place on Sunday 13th January at Leicester Grammar School.

In the Open section Sasha Kerbel & Jason Lv, Leicestershire Chess’s’Most Improved Junior’ and ‘Junior Team Player of the Year’ last year, underlined their progression by winning gold medals tying on 5 points (out of 6) each. 8 year old Kajus Mikalajunas also had an excellent competition in winning a bronze medal with 3.5 points.

There were 35 players in a competitive Major (U80) section. Leonard Wylie topped the list with 5.5pts and along with Zain Amir (5pts) and Leicestershire’s Joshua Tang (5pts) won gold medals. Leicestershire Juniors Kori Lee & Henry Powell both won silver medals with 4pts and Noor Datoo, Alan Skaria won bronze with 3.5pts.

In the Minor section, the 3 gold medallists on 5 points (Catharine Lv, Josh Crook and Arav Ajaykumar) were all Leicestershire Juniors, with Adeeb Syed winning silver (4pts) and Varad Dahi a bronze with 3.5pts.

Detailed Results are here: Open, Major, Minor

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.